top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTracey Conley Bray

I Am Here: A book of poetic expressions for the soul; to encourage, motivate and uplift.


Author and Poet Tracey Conley Bray


I Am Here


Some people are afraid of the unknown

but me I am afraid of being known

working hard behind the scene

sabotaging my own dreams so it would seem.

Don't look the part

so I am torn apart

by their callous words

and yet I repeat their words

which have oddly enough

become my words too:

You are not pretty enough

You are not smart enough

You are not skinny enough

You are not tall enough

You are not talented enough

So many not’s until my heart and mind begins to feel as if they are tied in a knot the life being squeezed out of me with each and every not

Low self-esteem

try no self-esteem

self so low until I no longer felt worthy

not deem worthwhile by the masses

a brown Cabbage Patch in a white Barbie’s world a larger than life black woman in this here America; producers trying to place a value on my potential worth based on the size of my dress unconcern with my actual worth quickly dismissing my inner worth a queen amongst queens.

They say that pretty hurts and I suppose that may be true but it only hurts when you forget the real you starving to fit in,

you see, I understand getting in where you fit in dying to be a ten obsessed with fitting in; psychologically dependent upon their negative attention despite their ill intentions.

If pretty hurts then feel my pain-the reality of the situation is you judge me by my outer appearance alone in spite of your own inner torment you are a product of the mass media shown pictures and told what beauty is…I Am Here

An African goddess with loveable features and yet the media and magazines says that my features aren’t pleasing turn off the T.V., put down the magazines and look around….I AM Here

My body size isn’t designed to fit the imprints of the models in the magazines but still….I Am Here

My teeth are crooked but my head is on straight. Don’t look away it is okay if your arms won’t go around me for you see I am not looking to be bound by you I relish in the thought of standing beside you or sitting next to you…I Am Here

If pretty hurts then feel my pain and walk beside me…I Am Here….I AM HERE!



https://www.createspace.com/pub/simplesitesearch.search.do?sitesearch_query=tracey+conley+bray&sitesearch_type=STORE

6 views0 comments
bottom of page