top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTracey Conley Bray

The Great Awakening

She stood quietly in her own mind listening to the chaos all around her contemplating her next move. A empty whole were her heart should be, eyes with sight but no vision to guide her. The Great Awakening depicts the struggles of being black in America.

Author and Poet Tracey Conley Bray


I See You Looking


Amazing grace how sweet the sound that saved a wretched like me I once was lost but now I am found was blind but now I see:

I see you looking I see you looking at me with eyes of hate eyes that judge me by the color of my skin eyes that would not hesitate to kill my mate eyes that lie and cheat to win I see you looking

I see you looking at me with eyes of suspicion eyes that gaze upon me like a lamb being led to the slaughter eyes that are tricky like a magician eyes that would not refrain from murdering my sons and daughters I see you looking

I see you looking at me with eyes of deceit eyes that dare to take my breath away eyes that earn a merit badge with every death receipt eyes that sin but do not pay I see you looking

I see you looking at me with eyes of rage eyes that try to hide what you are through a game of hide and seek eyes that rolls just to put me in a cage eyes that blink to punish the meek I see you looking While all I get is more eyes looking to beseech

Yet, somehow I am still found still saved still can see and yes, I see you too I see you looking.


https://www.createspace.com/pub/simplesitesearch.search.do?sitesearch_query=tracey+conley+bray&sitesearch_type=STORE



6 views0 comments
bottom of page